Uno, dos, tres – vive la maratón

So – it’s been a while since I wrote a blog, my goal for this year was to run a sub-24 100-miler and I achieved that twice – with the attempts within 6 weeks of each other…

valenciaIt’s been an amazing journey getting to this place, I can’t believe that 3 years ago I could barely run 5k – i’ve pushed myself to go longer, and have managed two 100-mile finishes this year.

100 miles, it’s an epic distance – and the satisfaction from finishing can’t be underestimated… BUT – it takes so much out of you… I can recover from a marathon in 2-3 days, a 50-miler in a week – but a 100, well – don’t make any plans for a month or more! After the NDW100 I woke up in the middle of the night thinking I was still in the race for a week, imagine wandering around your bedroom looking for an aid station at 4am on a tuesday?

So – for the winter, I’m all about marathons… I have this Good For Age monkey on my back, it’s just that I feel I need to run at least one decent marathon before I can retire into jogging them around…

First-up is Chester on 7th October, it looks flat – and on a good day is a potential winner!

But – running is my tourism, and I’m in love with Spain at the moment so have also entered::

  • Palma (21 Oct) My first marathon was at Palma, so looking forward to going back
  • Valencia (18 Nov) Big city marathon which looks amazing for scenery, (see photo)
  • Lanzarote (9 Dec) Favourite island, a bit of a jolly!

2013 will mark a return to the ultra training – I’ve already booked the 45-mile Country To Capital in January and the “BIG ONE” will be Western States, Leadville or UTMB depending on lotteries!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

