OK Computer – Fitter Happier

There’s a track on the 1997 Radiohead Album “OK Computer” called “Fitter Happier”

220px-radiohead-okcomputer-albumart2which came onto my iPod at around 35 miles into the Might Contain Nuts Brecon 40 last weekend. It goes something like this, (imagine Stephen Hawkins is narrating):

Fitter, Happier, More Productive, Comfortable, Not Drinking Too Much
Regular Exercise At The Gym, 3 Days A Week

Bearing in mind that I’m 30+ miles into a 40-mile ultra, and have already been up most of the peaks in the Brecon Beacons – spare the mighty Cribyn which I’m crawling up on my hands and knees at the moment, I’m not sure this is what Thom Yorke, (lead singer of Radiohead) had in mind.

It’s fair to say that I’ve been pushing my limits over the last couple of months, the legendary Fellsman hurt me more than I like to admit. I still haven’t regained feeling in my fingertips – the doctors tell me I had/have “mild frostbite” and that feeling may return at some point – but don’t wait-up! I’m learning to live with it now – but it doesn’t make my day job any easier, my typing accuracy has definitely suffered… Still, it could be worse I suppose, I’m not about to hacksaw off my fingers in the garden shed like Ranulph Fiennes.

Fellsman also hurt me in other ways – running seemed pointless for a while, I’d lost my ‘mojo’ as it were. OK so I did the UK trail champs in Aberystwyth and the Brecon 40, but just couldn’t get out of bed for my day-to-day runs. For me, these regular 8-9 mile runs at 6am are the bedrock of my life, they set me up for the day and allow me to focus on what I have to do at work. For the first time I couldn’t motivate myself to get out there.

After a fortnight of this malay, I decided to take a week off running. Then Parkrun on Saturday and the Sirhowy 10 on the Sunday, after which I went down to Sport Wales to cheer in some friends doing the Cardiff Ultra 50-miler.

Standing at the finish line of the Cardiff Ultra, applauding the athletes coming in was quite emotional. This race was my first ultra last year so it holds special memories for me, at the finish I met a few people – running and supporting that I’ve come to regard as friends over the last 12 months. We’ve been through a lot together and dragged each other through some highs and lows – literally and figuratively speaking.

It’s done me a world of good, a bit of down time. I’m now refreshed and ready to start my build-up to the North Downs Way 100 in August.

Fitter, Happier, More Productive, Comfortable, Not Drinking Too Much

Well – 4 out of 5 isn’t bad I suppose eh Thom?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

