Straight Outta Compton, (Berkshire)

This weekend’s crazy ultra challenge was the Compton Downland 40. A 40-mile, (with a 20-mile ‘fun run’ option) off-road romp across the downs near Reading.

compton1Most people I know associate Compton with Los Angeles gangland culture – immortalised by the rap band N.W.A. in the 80’s – so the people at work were a little concerned on Friday when I said I was running a 40-mile ultra in Compton! Rest assured, the Berkshire version of Compton is more Midsomer Murders  than South Central LA – though I’m not sure that’s any less risky. Fortunately, none of us were poisoned, garrotted or burnt in a pagan wicker man – or at least, none that I know of!

On arrival at the race HQ I met up with a few Islwyn runners that I know and three of us set off together. The next 7.5 hours flew by, we chatted, swore a lot, walked up a few hills, ran down a few, ate more Ritz crackers and Jaffa Cakes than is good for you and generally enjoyed each others company.

No-one was trying to go fast, Sean is training for Comrades in South Africa – so like me, has had been putting in the miles. Both of us have done multiple marathon+ distance runs over the last few weeks so were on tired legs before we started. It was however, a great day out!

During the race we hatched a plan to look into staging an ultra event on the Brecon to Monmouth Canal – possibly a 50-miler point-to-point event. I’m sure we could get enough people running it to make it worthwhile… Something I’d love to be a part of – I’ve run the route and think it would make an amazing race. Hopefully we’ll look into it a bit more over the next year and who knows what will happen?

That’s it for my long runs before Fellsman in 3 weeks – a race that terrifies me… I’ve got my mandatory kit OS maps marked up with the checkpoints and it looks bonkers! My initial 15-hour target looks ambitious, and I’m hearing sub-17 is ‘good’ – so I’ve revised my goals. It so much depends on what happens when it gets dark and who you are grouped with – once it gets dark you HAVE to run in groups of 4, so having someone who knows the course is a big advantage! There’s no course markings, just 62 miles, 26 checkpoints and 11,000′ of ascent – how you get around is up to you!

Next weekend – “The Bath Beat”, a 26.5 mile off-road picnic from the LDWA… Like I say, ultras are an eating competition with a bit of exercise thrown in!

I’ll leave this entry with a quote from Hunter S Thompson which seems appropriate as stringing these races together seemed impossible not so long ago!

Yesterday’s weirdness is tomorrow’s reason why

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

